Skip to content
Scottish Borders Counts — Scottish Borders, in numbers.Local help →

Scottish Borders, in numbers

People and living standards

Scottish Borders council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Scottish Borders council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 103,830 in 1991 to 116,800 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Scottish Borders council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 105,860 people in 1996; 116,800 people in 2025. 10.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Scottish Borders council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991103,830
1992104,540
1993105,040
1994105,450
1995105,940
1996105,860
1997105,960
1998106,040
1999105,810
2000106,250
2001106,950
2002107,530
2003108,390
2004109,450
2005110,250
2006110,860
2007112,200
2008113,360
2009113,590
2010113,700
2011113,880
2012113,940
2013114,350
2014114,760
2015114,890
2016115,460
2017115,970
2018116,190
2019116,490
2020116,380
2021117,080
2022116,820
2023117,080
2024117,190
2025116,800
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Scottish Borders council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,160 people in 1996; 17,389 people in 2025. 13.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Scottish Borders council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,574
199219,711
199319,889
199420,075
199520,189
199620,160
199720,166
199820,161
199920,093
200020,123
200120,185
200220,107
200320,097
200420,065
200520,119
200619,942
200720,003
200820,072
200919,854
201019,640
201119,330
201219,057
201318,908
201418,934
201518,818
201618,811
201718,807
201818,786
201918,781
202018,610
202118,415
202218,126
202317,978
202417,791
202517,389
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Scottish Borders council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 65,822 people in 1996; 66,657 people in 2025. 1.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Scottish Borders council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199164,724
199265,054
199365,272
199465,572
199565,869
199665,822
199765,934
199865,937
199965,827
200066,147
200166,540
200267,011
200367,589
200468,249
200568,706
200669,350
200770,272
200870,829
200970,696
201070,577
201170,590
201269,904
201369,628
201469,318
201569,096
201669,110
201769,097
201868,878
201968,585
202068,053
202168,307
202267,800
202367,602
202467,276
202566,657
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Scottish Borders council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,878 people in 1996; 32,754 people in 2025. 64.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Scottish Borders council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,532
199219,775
199319,879
199419,803
199519,882
199619,878
199719,860
199819,942
199919,890
200019,980
200120,225
200220,412
200320,704
200421,136
200521,425
200621,568
200721,925
200822,459
200923,040
201023,483
201123,960
201224,979
201325,814
201426,508
201526,976
201627,539
201728,066
201828,526
201929,124
202029,717
202130,358
202230,894
202331,500
202432,123
202532,754
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 116,827 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Scottish Borders · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total114,56498.1%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 113,870 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Scottish Borders · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White112,33698.7%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller640.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group3160.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1840.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1240.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi450%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese2000.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1800.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British2980.3%
Other Ethnic Group1230.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Scottish Borders council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,401 per person in 1997; £25,427 per person in 2024. 170.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Scottish Borders council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,401
19989,797
19999,956
200010,556
200110,994
200211,480
200312,316
200412,982
200513,593
200614,289
200714,756
200815,369
200915,695
201016,038
201116,257
201216,270
201316,897
201417,595
201518,078
201618,294
201718,513
201818,828
201919,756
202019,926
202120,471
202221,604
202323,486
202425,427
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Scottish Borders council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -11.4% in 1997; -2.1% in 2024. 9.3 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Scottish Borders council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-11.4
1998-9.5
1999-12
2000-11.3
2001-11.1
2002-9.3
2003-5.5
2004-4.3
2005-3.3
2006-2.4
2007-3.8
2008-2.4
2009-2
2010-0.7
2011-0.2
2012-3.7
2013-3.5
2014-2.7
2015-5
2016-5
2017-6
2018-7.8
2019-6.2
2020-5.1
2021-6.3
2022-5.9
2023-3.9
2024-2.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Scottish Borders council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Scottish Borders council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£193,000

July 2026 · Scottish Borders council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.